News

Is beer made using malted barley and crafted to remove gluten safe for folks with celiac disease? FDA says it is not possible to know based on current testing methods

This post is part of a series covering the FDA’s Final Rule on Gluten-Free Labeling of Fermented or Hydrolyzed Foods. 

The rule is available at: 

https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/08/13/2020-17088/food-labeling-gluten-free-labeling-of-fermented-or-hydrolyzed-foods

Background (Important):

FDA regulates the following:Beer made without malted barley but with hopsBeer made without hops but with malted barleyBeer made without either malted barley or hopsTTB regulates malt beverages including traditional beers made with both malted barley and hops.

Bottom Line:

Beer under the labeling jurisdiction of FDA that is made from gluten-containing grains (including malted barley) cannot […]

Gluten Content of Distilled Alcohol: Gluten Free Watchdog Summary Report

October 13, 2020: This report was published in 2018. It is being released publicly due to discussion around FDA’s 2020 rule on gluten-free labeling of fermented and hydrolyzed foods and ingredients. Please address any questions to Tricia Thompson at info@glutenfreewatchdog.org.

The report is available at https://www.glutenfreewatchdog.org/news/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/AlcoholReportGFWD2.pdf

Product Warning: Pots & Co. Flourless Chocolate Cake

This product is made in the UK and sold in the US. It is labeled gluten-free yet contains the ingredient “gluten-free barley malt extract (barley malt, water).”

Gluten Free Watchdog reached out to the manufacturer and was advised: “Our Flourless Chocolate Cake recipe uses a gluten free barley malt extract. It undergoes a special treatment to reduce the gluten content.  We have certification showing that it has a less than 5ppm and therefore can be labelled as Gluten Free.” 

While gluten-free foods […]

Product Alert: Schiff Digestive Advantage Lactose Defense Formula labeled no added gluten contains an enzyme cultivated on growth media containing wheat

A concerned consumer reached out to Gluten Free Watchdog about this product. GFWD contacted the manufacturer asking about the source of wheat. The manufacturer reply stated: “The product does not contain any wheat or gluten. The enzyme used in our product is grown on fermented wheat so we are required to add it to our label.”

HOWEVER, under FDA’s newly released rule on gluten-free labeling of fermented and hydrolyzed ingredients, FDA has declined to exempt enzymes. This means that enzymes […]

What the FDA has to say about wheat starch and hydrolyzed gluten

This post is part of a series covering the FDA’s Final Rule on Gluten-Free Labeling of Fermented or Hydrolyzed Foods. 

The rule is available at https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/08/13/2020-17088/food-labeling-gluten-free-labeling-of-fermented-or-hydrolyzed-foods

Bottom Line:

Under the FDA’s 2013 gluten-free labeling rule, wheat starch is considered “an ingredient processed to remove gluten.”It is an allowed ingredient in foods labeled gluten-free as long as its use does not result in the final food product containing 20 parts per million or more of gluten.Fermented foods and ingredients made using gluten-free wheat […]

What the FDA has to say about testing for gluten

This post is part of a series covering the FDA’s Final Rule on Gluten-Free Labeling of Fermented or Hydrolyzed Foods. 

The rule is available at

https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/08/13/2020-17088/food-labeling-gluten-free-labeling-of-fermented-or-hydrolyzed-foods

Bottom line

Currently (and according to FDA), it is next to impossible to accurately test food for gluten when it has been partially broken down into smaller protein fragments during certain processing procedures, such as fermentation and hydrolysis.

Examples of foods & ingredients that may contain gluten that has been partially broken down

Soy sauce (hydrolyzed wheat protein)Malt vinegar […]

What the FDA has to say about gluten-free labeling of foods containing bacteria, enzymes, & yeast grown on gluten-containing media

This post is part of a series covering the FDA’s Final Rule on Gluten-Free Labeling of Fermented or Hydrolyzed Foods. The information on growth media in the Federal Register document is located in multiple sections and is not 100% clear. This post may be updated as FDA provides additional clarification.

The rule is available at https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/08/13/2020-17088/food-labeling-gluten-free-labeling-of-fermented-or-hydrolyzed-foods

Bottom line

Manufacturers, if you are labeling a food gluten-free that contains microbes or enzymes, please make sure that the growth media used in their development did […]

Products in the immediate queue for testing at Gluten Free Watchdog (September 2020)

Products in the immediate queue for testing at Gluten Free Watchdog. Remember, test requests are from subscribers and requests are made for any number of reasons, including peace of mind. Testing does NOT necessarily mean that a product issue is suspected. Links to test reports are emailed to Gluten Free Watchdog subscribers.

Dietitians Interested in the Certificate of Training for Gluten Related Disorders from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics: Please See Reimbursement Grant Offer from CDF

Eligibility for this grant is open to registered dietitian nutritionists in the United States who provide documentation of completion of the five-module series, evidence of payment, and proof of current and valid, clean state licensure or registration. Grant recipients must also agree to be listed in the Celiac Disease Foundation Healthcare Practitioner Directory.

For more information, please see https://celiac.org/reimbursement-grant-for-certificate-of-training-in-treating-gluten-related-disorders/

Thank you to CDF!

About the COT for Gluten Related Disorders

The modules for this COT were published on July 9, 2020 by the Academy of […]

©2013