Gluten Free Watchdog recently commissioned testing of Trader Joe’s gluten-free rolled oats. One bag of oats (Best by Aug 18, 2023) was tested as part of our regular testing program. Results from the 6 extractions tested ranged from < 5 ppm to > 80 ppm. This is in keeping with the heterogeneous nature of gluten cross contact in oats. Based on these results, we do not recommend the use of Trader Joe’s gluten-free rolled oats by people with celiac […]
Based on testing commissioned by Gluten Free Watchdog, we do not recommend the use GF Harvest brand oats as a source of purity protocol oats. This product line will not be included in the updated purity protocol listing on Gluten Free Watchdog.
Also based on testing commissioned by Gluten Free Watchdog, we do not recommend the use of Trader Joe’s gluten-free rolled oats. We have been unable to confirm the source of oats used by Trader Joe’s in this product. […]
Until further notice, Gluten Free Watchdog does not recommend GF Harvest as a source of purity protocol oats.
Gluten Free Watchdog recently analyzed five bags of oat products from GF Harvest. Testing using the sandwich R5 ELISA found gluten in quantifiable levels in both GF Harvest oat flour and GF Harvest organic rolled oats.
Back story: A subscriber to Gluten Free Watchdog reached out about GF Harvest oats due to test results posted to Facebook. The Nima Sensor detected gluten in […]
This statement may not be reposted without the express written permission of Gluten Free Watchdog, LLC
This post was updated on October 24, 2022.
***Note: What follows is the opinion of Gluten Free Watchdog. If you tolerate oats, whether you choose to eat mechanically/optically sorted oats or only purity protocol oats is your decision. You do not owe anyone an explanation. Please make decisions based on all available information.***
Gluten Free Watchdog…
Is supportive of purity protocol gluten-free oats supplied by Avena […]
UPDATE October 21, 2022: We reached back out to Quaker Oats to reconfirm the information in this post. Their response: “We have NOT changed anything since the protocol was developed and therefore the graphic is still correct. We believe our stringent protocol and testing approach has served our consumers well and will continue to ensure these high quality standards.”
UPDATE: In light of the supply issues with oats, Gluten Free Watchdog reached out to Quaker Oats.
Question from GFWD:
If you are new to the gluten-free diet and are unfamiliar with the cross contact issues associated with oats and the differences between purity protocol and mechanically/optically sorted oats, please see the following articles before reading this post https://www.glutenfreewatchdog.org/news/oats-and-the-gluten-free-diet-qa-part-1/ and https://www.glutenfreewatchdog.org/news/oats-and-the-gluten-free-diet-qa-part-2/
Many labeled gluten-free foods contain oats supplied by providers of mechanically and optically sorted oats. Recently a consumer reached out to me regarding the labeling on a gluten-free snack bar containing oats. The label read, “”Contains … wheat** **Trace […]
Two weeks ago I posted on social media asking you to send me your questions on oats—anything that was on your mind. I did this because the situation with oats and the gluten-free diet is one of the most complicated issues I write about–something I’ve been doing for about 21 years.
Because you sent in so many questions, they are being answered in groups. This is the second Q&A post on oats. Some of your questions may have been slightly […]
Last week I posted on social media asking you to send me your questions on oats—anything that was on your mind because as I stated, “The situation with oats and the gluten-free diet is one of the most complicated issues I write about–something I’ve been doing for about 15 years.”
I’ve actually been writing about oats for so long that I forgot just how long. My first article on oats was published in the scientific literature in 1997—21 years ago […]
We’ve known for well over a decade that standard oats are highly likely to arrive at a mill from the farm containing errant wheat, barley, and rye grain. But we also have a problem with errant gluten-containing grain showing up in other naturally gluten-free grains, seeds, and legumes, including millet grain and dried lentils.
This is happening in products labeled “gluten-free” as well as those labeled “certified gluten-free.” And it doesn’t matter if the food manufacturing plant is dedicated gluten-free. […]
In honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month 2018,
A series of bites, barks, tail wags, face licks, and pant tugs from Gluten Free Watchdog
May 12, 2018
Gluten Free Watchdog Bite, Post # 12
Did you know that the term “gluten-free” is not supposed to be included in an ingredients list to describe oats?
I posed the following question to the FDA, “Is there anything in FDA labeling regulations that would prevent a manufacturer who is using specially produced gluten-free oats in their product […]