Search results for “yeast extract”

Yeast extract confusion made worse by the lack of manufacturer transparency

Gluten Free Watchdog received a consumer complaint about
Health Valley Gluten Free Café Chicken Noodle Soup. The product includes the
ingredient “flavors (including yeast extract).” Long story short, according to
the consumer who contacted us, she was told by Health Valley customer service
representatives that the source of the yeast extract was brewer’s yeast.
However, she never received a definitive answer regarding whether the brewer’s
yeast was spent brewer’s yeast.

Generally speaking, we do not advise contacting manufacturers about labeled gluten-free foods containing yeast extract. […]

Ingredient Information: Yeast Extract & Barley

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease. 

Post (#17)…

The following information applies to foods NOT labeled gluten-free.

Individuals with celiac disease have long been advised to avoid brewer’s yeast when the source is spent yeast. Spent yeast is a by-product of the beer brewing process—what is left of the yeast once […]

Yeast extract and other words to look for in the ingredients list of foods NOT labeled gluten-free

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease.

Post (#16)…

Please read the following information carefully. It can get very confusing very fast.

The following list applies to packaged foods regulated by the FDA (USDA regulated foods will be addressed in another post). FDA regulated packaged foods must comply with the Food Allergen […]

Update on the gluten-free status of yeast extract

Update July 29, 2014 : Based on testing done by Gluten Free Watchdog, I would like to reiterate that it is my recommendation that individuals with gluten-related disorders avoid products NOT labeled gluten-free containing the ingredients yeast extract or autolyzed yeast extract unless the source is confirmed. Please note that if you live in Canada, ALL gluten sources must be declared in the ingredients list. In addition Coeliac UK recently modified their position on yeast extract specifically as it […]

Brewer’s Yeast and Gluten

In honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month 2018,

A series of bites, barks, tail wags, face licks, and pant tugs from Gluten Free Watchdog

May 29, 2018

Gluten Free Watchdog Pant Tug, Post # 29

Brewer’s Yeast and Gluten

Bottom Line: When used as an ingredient in a food product NOT labeled gluten-free, brewer’s yeast may contain gluten from malt and gluten-containing grain.

Some information about brewer’s yeast (and yes, it is confusing):

The term brewer’s yeast can refer to both the live yeast used […]

Fermentation Growth Media for Yeast and Concerns about Residual Gluten

Gluten Free Watchdog recently received a question about the yeast used in a Crispin (Miller-Coors) hard cider certified gluten-free by GFCO. Neither GFCO nor Miller-Coors would disclose the growth medium used for the yeast.

Yeast testing: In an attempt to learn more about residual gluten protein in yeast grown on gluten-containing growth media Gluten Free Watchdog tested White Labs Pilsner Yeast cultured in a solution containing barley malt for gluten. This yeast is NOT labeled gluten-free. But, according to the […]

Product Labeled Gluten-Free Contains Barley Malt Extract

Suzanne Simpson, dietitian at the Celiac Center at Columbia University recently alerted me to a product manufactured by The Gracious Gourmet that is labeled gluten-free but contains barley malt extract as an ingredient.

This product was NOT tested by Gluten Free Watchdog

Balsamic Four Onion Spread http://www.thegraciousgourmet.com/Balsamic-Four-Onion-Spread-v-158.html is labeled and advertised as gluten-free but according to the ingredients list on the product label and published online, it contains barley malt extract.

Ingredients

onions (yellow onion, leeks, shallots, red onion) sugar, balsamic vinegar, raisin, […]

Barley should be added to FALCPA and here’s why

In honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month 2018,

A series of bites, barks, tail wags, face licks, and pant tugs from Gluten Free Watchdog

May 24, 2018

Gluten Free Watchdog Bite, Post # 24

This is a modified post from CDAM 2017.

The information included in this post is not cause for undue alarm. But there is a reason why Canada and the European Union require sources of gluten, including barley to be declared in the ingredients list. It is high time the US […]

Which ingredient in this list might contain malt?

In honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month 2018,

A series of bites, barks, tail wags, face licks, and pant tugs from Gluten Free Watchdog

May 14, 2018

Gluten Free Watchdog pant tug, Post # 14

Question: In the US, which ingredient in the list below might contain malt causing the product to have a gluten level of at least 20 ppm when tested with the competitive R5 ELISA (detects gluten protein fragments from fermented/hydrolyzed protein)?

Ingredients: Yellow corn meal, Chili powder, Maltodextrin, Corn starch, […]

Words to look for in USDA-regulated foods NOT labeled gluten-free

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease.

Post (#21)…

As a reminder… the USDA regulates meat products, poultry products, egg products, and mixed food products containing more than 3% raw meat or 2% or more cooked meat or poultry.

Words to look for in the ingredients list of USDA-regulated foods NOT labeled […]

©2013