Author: Tricia Thompson

KoJa Kitchen Restaurant Says Wheat-Based Soy Sauce is Gluten-Free: Is it?

April 23, 2018

Gluten Free Watchdog has been informed of yet another restaurant chain representing wheat-based soy sauce as gluten-free. The restaurant is KoJa Kitchen and they have an online schematic explaining how their soy sauce marinade is gluten-free. See The trouble is, according to the Food and Drug Administration restaurants should NOT be representing their wheat-based soy sauce as gluten-free.

What follows are a few reminders about soy sauce. Please take the time to read this information carefully. […]

Letter to Restaurant Managers: Do not use wheat-based soy sauce in foods represented as gluten-free

At Gluten Free Watchdog we have received a number of complaints about restaurants in the US using wheat-based soy sauce in sauces and meals represented as gluten-free. When eating at a restaurant, please ask whether a sauce contains soy sauce & whether the soy sauce contains wheat. Please also share this letter with restaurant managers. A pdf is available for download GFWDRestaurantLetterSoySauce


Dear manager,

It has come to our attention that some restaurants are mistakenly representing soy sauce made from wheat as gluten-free. […]

Allergen advisory statements for wheat do NOT appear to be useful predictors of the potential for quantifiable gluten in database reviews

For Immediate Release April 4, 2018
Allergen advisory statements for wheat do NOT appear to be useful predictors of the potential for quantifiable gluten in database reviews 1,2
A pdf of this release is available at FINAL EJCNAAS2018PressReleaseApril4

In the U.S., allergen advisory statements are voluntary and are not currently defined by any federal regulation. The FDA continues to state that allergen advisory statements must be truthful and not misleading. Precautionary labeling may include language such as, “May contain wheat,” “Processed in a […]

“May Contain” Statements for Wheat on Foods Labeled Gluten-Free NOT Useful Predictors for Gluten

On March 26, 2018 the article, “When foods contain both a gluten-free claim and an allergen advisory statement for wheat: should consumers be concerned?” by Tricia Thompson, Amy Keller, and Trisha B. Lyons was published online ahead of print by the European Journal of Clinical Nutrition.

To view a one-page summary of the article (see photo below), click 2018 AAS FINAL one-pager 

NOTE: The viewing and printing quality of the pdf at the above link is much better than clicking on the […]

Significant Study Published on the Amount of Gluten Eaten by Folks with Celiac Disease on a Gluten-Free Diet

Study authors have affiliations with ImmunogenX and Biomedal/Glutenostics  

Gluten Free Watchdog has no affiliation with either Biomedal/Glutenostics or ImmunogenX.

The study, “Determination of gluten consumption in celiac disease patients on a gluten-free diet” was recently published in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition. In the opinion of Gluten Free Watchdog this is one of the more significant studies published on celiac disease and the gluten-free diet in recent memory. It is the first study that attempts to analytically determine […]

Arsenic and Mercury in Rice: New Research from Dartmouth College

February 28, 2018

Note: If you are a subscriber to Gluten Free Watchdog, summary test reports for both arsenic and mercury will be reposted with minor updates. Reposting these reports allows the entire community of current subscribers (and all new subscribers if they subscribe before May 28, 2018) to access this information regardless of subscription level (Watchdog or Premium). Please wait until you receive email notification that the reports have posted before trying to access them.

Updated summary test report for […]

Update on Edison Grainery French Green Lentils

February 26, 2018

The bad news: Yet another consumer contacted Gluten Free Watchdog about errant grain in Edison Grainery French green lentils.

The potential good news: Based on email correspondence between the consumer and Edison Grainery, they have just this month started using an optical sorter.

Gluten Free Watchdog sent an email to Edison Grainery to:

Confirm that they are using an optical sorter
Ask the best by date consumers should look for to ensure they are purchasing/receiving lentils that have gone […]

Spot a labeled gluten-free food that’s misbranded? Here’s what to do

The FDA has issued an interim response to Gluten Free Watchdog’s petition requesting that the agency establish a specific protocol for increased surveillance, investigation and enforcement of potential facial misbranding violations under the gluten-free labeling rule. The agency response reads in part, “…we have not reached a decision on your petition within the first 180 days due to competing priorities. However, be advised that your petition is currently under active evaluation by our staff.”

At Gluten Free Watchdog, Kaki and […]

Sourdough Wheat Bread is NOT Safe for Folks with Celiac Disease

Gluten Free Watchdog has tested three artisanal sourdough breads for gluten. We will not be testing any additional varieties. As the test results prove, wheat-based sourdough bread, including those made in small bakeries by artisanal bakers contains a lot of gluten and should not be eaten by anyone with a gluten related disorder. Full Stop.

Test results:

Product: Dan the Baker Country Sourdough Bread
Test date: April 2015
Why product was tested:  At the time of testing the bakery […]

Gluten in Drug Products Proposed Guidance: Please Comment

The comment period for this proposed guidance closes at 11:59 pm eastern time TODAY February 12, 2018.

This is the text of the email sent to Gluten Free Watchdog subscribers:

Dear Gluten Free Watchdog community,

As most of you know, FDA issued draft guidance for industry on gluten in drug products and associated labeling recommendations. The comment period closes on Monday, February 12 (yes, tomorrow!). Please see the comment pasted below that we just submitted to the docket. Please consider commenting and […]