Barley Contamination

Article Summary: Gluten-Free Labeling: Are Growth Media Containing Wheat, Barley, and Rye Falling through the Cracks?

Article Summary: Gluten-Free Labeling: Are Growth Media Containing Wheat, Barley, and Rye Falling through the Cracks? Tricia Thompson, Melinda Dennis, Luke Emerson. J Acad Nutr Dietet. 2017. In Press.  Background: Bacteria are used in a variety of products, including probiotics. These microorganisms may be grown on media that may include ingredients derived from gluten-containing grain (ie, wheat, barley, and rye). Historically, some concern has been expressed in the celiac disease community that the use of gluten-derived/ gluten-containing growth media may result in...

Call to Action: Barley protein should be added to FALCPA and here’s why

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease.  Post (#19)… The information included in this post is not cause for undue alarm. But there is a reason why Canada and the European Union require sources of gluten, including barley to be declared in the ingredients list. It is high time the US did...

Ingredient Information: Dry Smoke Flavoring & Barley Malt Flour

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease.  Post (#18)… Please read this information very carefully as it may become confusing very quickly. This information applies to foods NOT labeled gluten-free. Dry smoke flavoring may use barley malt flour as a carrier agent. For examples see: http://www.redarrowusa.com/products/condensed-natural-smoke/charzyme-hickory/ http://www.spicebarn.com/hickory_smoke_powder.htm It is not known at this time how...

Ingredient Information: Yeast Extract & Barley

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease.  Post (#17)… The following information applies to foods NOT labeled gluten-free. Individuals with celiac disease have long been advised to avoid brewer's yeast when the source is spent yeast. Spent yeast is a by-product of the beer brewing process—what is left of the yeast once it...

Barley: At one time a controversial grain for folks with celiac disease

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease.   Post (#11)… Believe it or not barley has not always been universally excluded from the gluten-free diet… Dicke, in his classic feeding trials reported in 1953 (see post https://www.glutenfreewatchdog.org/news/the-gluten-free-diet-is-born-thank-you-dr-dicke/) determined that, “Of the starch containing foodstuffs as far as investigated, the following are harmless: wheat starch,...

Mystery Grain in Edison Grainery Lentils Tests “Low Gluten” Using Nima

This post is an update to the blog posted on December 13th entitled “General Product Warning: Check Your Lentils (including certified gluten-free lentils) for Foreign Grain” available at https://www.glutenfreewatchdog.org/news/general-product-warning-check-your-lentils-including-certified-gluten-free-lentils-for-foreign-grain/ Long story short: A consumer found a single errant grain in each of two bags of Edison Grainery certified gluten-free lentils. Photos of the grain were sent to Edison Grainery. The consumer was advised that the grain was likely wild oat, oat, or rice. Gluten Free Watchdog sent one of the photos...

Comment from Gluten Free Watchdog to FDA on the use of barley malt in foods labeled gluten-free

Comments submitted by Tricia Thompson, MS, RD Founder, Gluten Free Watchdog, LLC In response to Docket Number FDA-2014-N-1021   Email: tricia_s_thompson@hotmail.com Web: www.glutenfreewatchdog.org   Dear FDA, This letter is an addendum to comment ID: FDA-2014-N-1021-0067 In our previous comment (FDA-2014-N-1021-0067) we wrote: “Can FDA also please clarify the Agency's position on the use of barley malt and barley malt extract in foods labeled gluten-free? Both of these ingredients contain hydrolyzed gluten protein. FDA has advised me via email correspondence that FDA considers malt extract an “ingredient not processed to remove...

Attention Gluten-Free Manufacturers: Important Information about Malt

On March 12, 2014 an FDA staff member (Carol D'lima, Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition, FDA) participated in an Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Medical Nutrition Practice Group Webinar entitled, “New Rules for Gluten Free Labeling: Get the Facts from the Experts.” The webinar included information both in written and verbal format on the ingredient malt extract. Information on FDA slide entitled, “Malt Extract/Syrup” 0 Malt—Product of barley germination 0 Malt Extract/Malt Syrup—Viscous concentrate of water extract of germinated barley 0 “Ingredients not processed to...

Call to Action Regarding Barley Malt Ingredients in Foods Labeled Gluten-Free

The FDA recently published a proposed rule for the Gluten-Free Labeling of Fermented or Hydrolyzed Foods. The comment period for this proposed rule is open until February 16, 2016. Please take the time to comment on the proposed rule. Let FDA know that you would like the Agency to state as clearly as possible in a Q&A to manufacturers that barley malt and barley malt extract as defined in the Code of Federal Regulations are not allowed in foods labeled gluten-free. As...

Foods Labeled Gluten-Free Yet Containing Barley Malt Ingredients

NEW Product Alert (October 25, 2017): Great Value (Walmart) salt and vinegar chips. Product is labeled gluten-free yet "malt vinegar powder" is included in the ingredients list. NEW Product Alert (October 25, 2017): Goodie Girl Cookies Toffee Crunch. While the manufacturer states on their website that products do not contain malt extract, incorrect product packaging remains on store shelves (the product is labeled gluten-free & the ingredients list includes "malt extract"). NEW Product Alert (October 11, 2017): Mission Hill Bistro Beef Pot Roast with Homestyle Gravy:...