Alannah Miller and Alisa Stolyar from Hopkinton High School in Massachusetts provided a summary of their science fair project, “Let’s Yeet This Wheat: Removing Gluten From Fryer Oil” to Gluten Free Watchdog for posting. We are proud to have helped sponsor this project in support of young women in science, especially those working in the celiac disease and gluten-free realm. Brava to these young women. Please read their summary report. (click on the icon after it loads).
Over the holidays we
received emails from community members concerned about the gluten-free status
of various candies, including those made by See’s Candies and Hammond’s
Focusing on See’s Candies (and
long story short), this is what their website currently states about gluten:
Valid January 1, 2019
– December 31, 2019
Candies produced in See’s
Candies facilities do not contain gluten, and these products are the vast
majority of those we sell. We purchase a small amount of specialty candies made
by third parties, and these also […]
We continue to receive reports of errant gluten-containing grains in bags of dried lentils sold in the US. Health Canada just issued a recall on a brand of lentils for undeclared gluten. As a general reminder, under US GIPSA standards (Grain Inspection, Packers & Stockyards Administration), lentils are allowed to contain a certain percentage of foreign grain, including wheat, barley, and rye. As a precaution, please make sure to pick through dry lentils carefully and rinse them very thoroughly under […]
April 23, 2018
Gluten Free Watchdog has been informed of yet another restaurant chain representing wheat-based soy sauce as gluten-free. The restaurant is KoJa Kitchen and they have an online schematic explaining how their soy sauce marinade is gluten-free. See http://www.kojakitchen.com/gluten-free. The trouble is, according to the Food and Drug Administration restaurants should NOT be representing their wheat-based soy sauce as gluten-free.
What follows are a few reminders about soy sauce. Please take the time to read this information carefully. […]
November 14, 2017
We have received yet another complaint from a subscriber to Gluten Free Watchdog about Edison Grainery lentils containing foreign grain. This consumer found two grains in a two-cup random pour from a 5 pound bag of lentils labeled “verified gluten free”. She has not picked through the entire bag of lentils. More grain may be present.
A photo of the grains was sent to Seaton Smith of GF Harvest who is very well versed in identifying wheat, barley, […]
Gluten Free Watchdog recently received a question about the yeast used in a Crispin (Miller-Coors) hard cider certified gluten-free by GFCO. Neither GFCO nor Miller-Coors would disclose the growth medium used for the yeast.
Yeast testing: In an attempt to learn more about residual gluten protein in yeast grown on gluten-containing growth media Gluten Free Watchdog tested White Labs Pilsner Yeast cultured in a solution containing barley malt for gluten. This yeast is NOT labeled gluten-free. But, according to the […]
NOTE: A pdf of the letter is available at this link GFWDStoreLetter2018Update
Thank you to the Gluten Free Watchdog subscriber for sharing the attached photo.
It has recently come to our attention at Gluten Free Watchdog, LLC that gluten-free flour is being placed below or next to wheat-based flour on store shelves. This may not seem like much of an issue. However, when wheat-based food “leaks” as is often the case with bags of flour it is a health hazard. Wheat […]
This post is an update to the blog posted on December 13th entitled “General Product Warning: Check Your Lentils (including certified gluten-free lentils) for Foreign Grain” available at https://www.glutenfreewatchdog.org/news/general-product-warning-check-your-lentils-including-certified-gluten-free-lentils-for-foreign-grain/
Long story short: A consumer found a single errant grain in each of two bags of Edison Grainery certified gluten-free lentils. Photos of the grain were sent to Edison Grainery. The consumer was advised that the grain was likely wild oat, oat, or rice. Gluten Free Watchdog sent one of the […]
Testing data from Gluten Free Watchdog was recently published in the European Journal of Clinical Nutrition. The focus of the article is allergen advisory statements for wheat but the article also includes data on gluten levels of products not labeled gluten-free but appearing to be free of gluten ingredients. It was recently brought to my attention that these levels should be highlighted (thanks, Al!).
Summary findings for products NOT labeled gluten-free:
101 total products tested
87 products tested below 5 parts per million […]
General Product Warning: Check Your Lentils (including certified gluten-free lentils) for Foreign Grain
Bottom Line: Gluten Free Watchdog has received a number of consumer complaints about foreign grain in packages of lentils. The most recent complaints are for Edison Grainery French Green Lentils and Beluga Lentils (both certified gluten-free) and Simply Nature Organic Green Lentils distributed by Aldi and labeled “naturally gluten-free food.” Please carefully inspect and wash all lentils that you purchase (see specific recommendations below).
Edison Grainery: The three most recent consumer complaints for this manufacturer involve a single errant grain […]