Grain Contamination

Gluten Free Watchdog no longer recommends GF Harvest as a source of purity protocol oats

Update January, 4, 2023: Gluten Free Watchdog does not recommend GF Harvest as a source of gluten-free oats. Four bags of oat flour (Best by date 06/23, Lot # 0452.001.9.007) tested between 6 and 32 parts per million of gluten. Unfortunately, the manufacturer never responded to an email from Gluten Free Watchdog alerting them to the results.

Until further notice, Gluten Free Watchdog does not recommend GF Harvest as a source of purity protocol oats.

Gluten Free Watchdog recently analyzed […]

To decrease your risk of cross contact with gluten, choose naturally gluten-free grains, seeds, and legumes labeled gluten-free

In honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month 2018,

A series of bites, barks, tail wags, face licks, and pant tugs from Gluten Free Watchdog

May 6, 2018

Gluten Free Watchdog Pant Tug, Post # 6

Gluten-free diet tip: Please, please, please, whenever possible choose naturally gluten-free grains, seeds, and legumes labeled gluten-free.

Why? Because of cross contact concerns with wheat, barley, and rye. This cross contact can occur anywhere from the field to the factory. While some products are processed in dedicated facilities, this […]

Gluten Free Watchdog Updated Position Statement on Oats

Background: Two scientific publications from PepsiCo scientists provide us with the best data to date on the state of contamination of oats sold as gluten-free in the US (1, 2). Extensive testing by PepsiCo found 1 in every 57 servings tested (0.25 g sample taken from each 45 to 50 g ground serving) to contain gluten at levels at or above 20 parts per million using the R5 ELISA R7001 assay. The scientists point out that the number of […]

Quinoa and Possible Barley Contamination

The Chicago Rabbinical Council (CRC) recently posted an alert on their website concerning quinoa and its suitability for Passover This alert has implications beyond the Jewish community to include those with celiac disease. I had the pleasure of speaking with a Rabbi from the CRC to confirm this information.

For the past several years quinoa in general was considered suitable for Passover*. This is no longer the case. After thoroughly investigating the issue, several concerns have been raised by […]

Naturally Gluten-Free Grains and Gluten Contamination

We all know that if we eat oats they should be labeled gluten-free. We know this because it is well established that “regular” commercial oats are very likely contaminated with gluten. If you are interested in testing data it is available here.

What is less well established is whether other naturally gluten-free grains NOT labeled gluten-free like millet, sorghum, and buckwheat are likely contaminated too.

In 2010, Thomas Grace, Anne Lee and I published the study, “Gluten contamination of grains, seeds, […]