Gluten Free Watchdog recently received a question about the yeast used in a Crispin (Miller-Coors) hard cider certified gluten-free by GFCO. Neither GFCO nor Miller-Coors would disclose the growth medium used for the yeast.
Yeast testing: In an attempt to learn more about residual gluten protein in yeast grown on gluten-containing growth mediums Gluten Free Watchdog tested White Labs Pilsner Yeast cultured in a solution containing barley malt for gluten. This yeast is NOT labeled gluten-free. But, according to the […]