Does FDA ever intend to take public enforcement action against manufacturers misbranding products gluten-free that list malt ingredients?
As of May 23, 2022, FDA has not taken any public enforcement action on misbranded products labeled gluten-free yet listing malt, malt extract, malt syrup, or malt vinegar in the ingredients (all made from barley unless another source is declared, such as corn malt).
On February 23, 2022, Gluten Free Watchdog sent a letter to Susan Mayne, PhD, Director of FDA’s Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition. The letter stated in part:
“We are deeply concerned that the gluten-free labeling […]