Wheat Starch

Wheat Starch in Gluten-Free Foods in 2023: An Update from Gluten Free Watchdog

Bottom Line: Avoid wheat starch-containing foods NOT labeled gluten-free. It is your decision whether or not to eat labeled gluten-free foods containing wheat starch. In the opinion of Gluten Free Watchdog, wheat starch used in gluten-free products should be tested with both the sandwich and competitive R5 ELISAs unless it can be confirmed with the supplier that hydrolytic enzymes are NOT used in the production of water washed wheat starch. Read on for the reasons why. Please see the manufacturer listing below. Considerations: Do not eat wheat...

To eat or not to eat wheat starch-containing gluten-free DiGiorno pizza

Please also see the post Wheat Starch in Gluten-Free Foods in 2023: An Update from Gluten Free Watchdog available at https://www.glutenfreewatchdog.org/news/wheat-starch-in-gluten-free-foods-in-2023-an-update-from-gluten-free-watchdog/ The controversy over the use of wheat starch in gluten-free foods is back on the front burner due to the new DiGiorno gluten-free pizzas. The pizzas are made using wheat starch that has been processed to remove gluten. Before we go any further, please remember that under the FDA’s 2013 gluten-free labeling rule, wheat starch is an allowed ingredient in foods labeled...

What the FDA has to say about wheat starch and hydrolyzed gluten

This post is part of a series covering the FDA’s Final Rule on Gluten-Free Labeling of Fermented or Hydrolyzed Foods.  The rule is available at https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/08/13/2020-17088/food-labeling-gluten-free-labeling-of-fermented-or-hydrolyzed-foods Bottom Line: Under the FDA’s 2013 gluten-free labeling rule, wheat starch is considered “an ingredient processed to remove gluten.”It is an allowed ingredient in foods labeled gluten-free as long as its use does not result in the final food product containing 20 parts per million or more of gluten.Fermented foods and ingredients made using gluten-free wheat starch...

Happy wheat starch isn’t used in more gluten-free foods? You may have Ener-G Foods & Elaine Hartsook to thank

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease.  Post (#9)… Adapted from The Gluten Free Nutrition Guide by Tricia Thompson (McGraw-Hill) In some parts of the world, wheat starch has been allowed in gluten-free foods since the time of Dicke's classic feeding trials, but historically it has not been used all that much in...

Does wheat starch belong in a gluten-free diet?

Please also see the post Wheat Starch in Gluten-Free Foods in 2023: An Update from Gluten Free Watchdog available at https://www.glutenfreewatchdog.org/news/wheat-starch-in-gluten-free-foods-in-2023-an-update-from-gluten-free-watchdog/ In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease.  Post (#8)… First some background… Under the FDA's gluten-free labeling rule wheat starch is allowed in gluten-free foods as long as the final product contains less than...

Using Wheat Starch in Gluten-Free Foods

In the US we are not used to seeing wheat starch in gluten-free food. This may be changing. Schar* has introduced their wheat starch-based croissants to the US market. This may lead other manufacturers of gluten-free foods to follow suit. As you make a personal decision whether to eat these products, you may want to keep the following points in mind: 1.     In the U.S. wheat starch is allowed in food labeled gluten-free. 2.     The Food and Drug Administration considers wheat starch...