General Product Warning: Check Your Lentils (including certified gluten-free lentils) for Foreign GrainTricia Thompson
Bottom Line: Gluten Free Watchdog has received a number of consumer complaints about foreign grain in packages of lentils. The most recent complaints are for Edison Grainery French Green Lentils and Beluga Lentils (both certified gluten-free) and Simply Nature Organic Green Lentils distributed by Aldi and labeled “naturally gluten-free food.” Please carefully inspect and wash all lentils that you purchase (see specific recommendations below).
Edison Grainery: The three most recent consumer complaints for this manufacturer involve a single errant grain in a bag of lentils. Edison Grainery told consumers that while it is difficult to identify the grains in question they are most likely wild oat, oat, or rice.
Gluten Free Watchdog sent a consumer photo (posted) of one of the grains to an oat farmer. We were advised that the grain in question was not a wild oat but likely barley. Unlike the multiple errant grains found in the Aldi product, the sample from the Edison Grainery product is too small to test using the R5 ELISA (we need at least 0.25 g of product). The consumer has agreed to send the grain to us for testing using the Nima. This may or may not work depending upon whether the seed can be ground into “flour” form. (As an aside—testing errant grains after grinding to determine if they are wheat, barley, or rye may be a good use of Nima).
Gluten Free Watchdog reached out to Edison Grainery for comment. They have not yet responded to our email. Please see the comment section for an update from Edison Grainery.
Aldi: Information about the Aldi product is available at https://www.glutenfreewatchdog.org/news/product-alert-simply-nature-organic-green-lentils-distributed-aldi-labeled-naturally-gluten-free-food/
- Purchase lentil-based products labeled gluten-free. Lentils are allowed by law to contain a certain percentage of foreign grain, including wheat, barley, and/or rye. That said if lentils are labeled gluten-free they should contain less than 20 ppm of gluten.
- Regardless of whether the lentils you buy are labeled gluten-free please do the following:
- If the lentils are canned: rinse thoroughly under running water.
- If the lentils are dry: pour onto a cookie sheet and pick through them. Rinse thoroughly under running water.
If you have access to historical data on GFWD, please look at the test results for the following lentil-based products:
Thank you to the ever-vigilant consumers who contacted us about these products.