Gluten Free Watchdog Product Alert: Boulder Canyon Malt Vinegar Chips

Gluten Free Watchdog Product Alert: Boulder Canyon Malt Vinegar Chips

At least two (maybe three) varieties of Boulder Canyon malt vinegar and sea salt chips are labeled gluten-free and/or erroneously contain the Gluten Free Certification Organization (GFCO) Certified Gluten-Free mark (i.e. they were never certified by GFCO) and include the ingredients malt vinegar and malt extract. To access a pdf of the report click here.

Excerpt: Bottom Line: At least two (maybe three) varieties of Boulder Canyon malt vinegar and sea salt chips are labeled gluten-free and/or erroneously contain the Gluten Free Certification Organization (GFCO) Certified Gluten-Free mark (i.e. they were never certified by GFCO) and include the ingredients malt vinegar and
malt extract. The products are Boulder Canyon Malt Vinegar & Sea Salt Chips and Boulder Canyon Malt Vinegar and Sea Salt Wavy Potato Chips, Kettle Cooked in 100% Avocado Oil. There also are questions regarding the Malt Vinegar & Sea Salt chips in compostable packaging.

Ingredients: Potatoes, Sunflower and/or safflower oil, Malt vinegar powder
(maltodextrin, food starch modified, malt vinegar), Fructose, White vinegar
powder (maltodextrin, distilled white vinegar), Sea salt, Citric acid, Malt extract

Ingredients: Potatoes, Avocado oil, Malt vinegar powder (maltodextrin, modified
food starch, malt vinegar), White vinegar powder (maltodextrin, distilled white
vinegar), Sea salt, Fructose, Citric acid, Malt extract.

It has become very clear over the past four weeks that Boulder Canyon has no intention of removing current product from store shelves. It is astounding to me that pullback notices were issued by GFCO almost four weeks ago. It is not clear from GFCO what a pullback notice means but it sounds like product should be
removed from store shelves. It is also dumbfounding that a manufacturer with gluten-free certification on some products would be unaware that malt extract should not be included in products labeled gluten-free. But this is not the first time this has happened. It is clear that manufacturers, including those who have certification programs in place, need more education on what it means to manufacture a gluten-free product under the rules of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

To read the entire report, please click HERE.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


©2013