Labeling Quiz # 2

Labeling Quiz # 2

In honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month 2018,

A series of bites, barks, tail wags, face licks, and pant tugs from Gluten Free Watchdog

May 26, 2018

Gluten Free Watchdog Pant Tug, Post # 26

Quiz

A can of vegetable soup sold in the U.S. NOT labeled gluten-free includes the word “dextrin” in the ingredients list. The source of dextrin is not named. The label does NOT include a Contains statement.

True or False: The dextrin could contain wheat protein.

The answer is below the photo. No peaking!

 

Answer: False

Explanation: the FDA regulates this product. If dextrin in a packaged food product regulated by the FDA and sold in the U.S. contains protein from wheat, the word wheat will be included on the food label either in the ingredients list [e.g., “dextrin (wheat)] or Contains statement [e.g., Contains: wheat].

If the word wheat is not included in either the ingredients list or Contains statement, then the dextrin does not contain wheat protein (FDA-regulated foods only).

Share this post

Comment (1)

  • Angelica Reply

    Thank you for these quiz questions. I think it’s much more helpful to have one concept presented at a time. When I look at a list, the attention rule applies and I can lose track of certain details on that list. But this way, I’m much more likely to remember these things when I need to, that is, when I’m in the store and wondering whether something is safe. Learning a lot.

    May 27, 2018 at 7:43 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


©2013