Labeling Quiz #3

Labeling Quiz #3

In honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month 2018,

A series of bites, barks, tail wags, face licks, and pant tugs from Gluten Free Watchdog

May 27, 2018

Gluten Free Watchdog Pant Tug, Post # 27

Quiz

True or False: A product labeled gluten-free in the U.S. can also include “glucose syrup (wheat)” in the ingredients list.

The answer is below the photo. No peaking!

Answer: True.

Explanation: Glucose syrup (wheat) is considered by the FDA to be an ingredient “processed to remove gluten.” Other such ingredients include wheat starch, maltodextrin (wheat), modified food starch (wheat), and dextrin (wheat). All of these ingredients are allowed in foods labeled gluten-free as long as the inclusion of these ingredients does not cause the final food product to contain 20 parts per million or more of gluten.

Share this post

Comment (1)

  • Dee
    Reply

    All your information keeps me on a whole food diet. Thank you for the reminders 🙂 You rock!

    Can’t trust any processed food makers until they are forced to tell the truth. . . Sad.

    May 29, 2018 at 10:15 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


©2013