News

Call to Action: Barley protein should be added to FALCPA and here’s why

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease.

 Post (#19)…

The information included in this post is not cause for undue alarm. But there is a reason why Canada and the European Union require sources of gluten, including barley to be declared in the ingredients list. It is high time the US […]

Ingredient Information: Dry Smoke Flavoring & Barley Malt Flour

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease. 

Post (#18)…

Please read this information very carefully as it may become confusing very quickly.

This information applies to foods NOT labeled gluten-free.

Dry smoke flavoring may use barley malt flour as a carrier agent. For examples see:

http://www.redarrowusa.com/products/condensed-natural-smoke/charzyme-hickory/

http://www.spicebarn.com/hickory_smoke_powder.htm

It is not known at this time […]

Ingredient Information: Yeast Extract & Barley

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease. 

Post (#17)…

The following information applies to foods NOT labeled gluten-free.

Individuals with celiac disease have long been advised to avoid brewer’s yeast when the source is spent yeast. Spent yeast is a by-product of the beer brewing process—what is left of the yeast once […]

Yeast extract and other words to look for in the ingredients list of foods NOT labeled gluten-free

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease.

Post (#16)…

Please read the following information carefully. It can get very confusing very fast.

The following list applies to packaged foods regulated by the FDA (USDA regulated foods will be addressed in another post). FDA regulated packaged foods must comply with the Food Allergen […]

Wheat grass, wheat glucose syrup, etc. allowed in foods labeled gluten-free: Here’s why

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease.

Post (#15)…

The FDA’s gluten-free labeling rule in brief…

(Note: this rule covers packaged food, including dietary supplements regulated by the FDA; this rule does not cover pet food, cosmetics, prescription or non-prescription drugs, foods regulated by the USDA, or beverages regulated by the TTB)

A […]

Thank you to the moms of children with celiac disease

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease.  

Post (#14)…

On this Mother’s Day thank you to…

All the moms who contact me with test requests and questions–questions about ingredients, labeling, cross contact, oats, Cheerios, and so many others. You all are working to create a healthy environment where your children are not […]

What Exactly is Gluten?

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease.  

Post (#13)…

So what is gluten?

Strictly speaking, gluten is a protein compound found only in wheat, and then only after wheat flour is mixed with a liquid such as water. When water is added to wheat flour and the resulting “dough” is kneaded, […]

The “Modern” U.S. Gluten-Free Diet

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease.  

Post (#12)…

The gluten-free diet has evolved since it’s early beginnings and now excludes barley (and occasionally oats) in addition to wheat and rye…

Grains excluded from a gluten-free diet:

Wheat

All grain varieties, including spelt
Most forms of wheat

Wheat flour
Wheat starch (unless […]

Barley: At one time a controversial grain for folks with celiac disease

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease.  

Post (#11)…

Believe it or not barley has not always been universally excluded from the gluten-free diet…

Dicke, in his classic feeding trials reported in 1953 (see post https://www.glutenfreewatchdog.org/news/the-gluten-free-diet-is-born-thank-you-dr-dicke/) determined that, “Of the starch containing foodstuffs as far as investigated, the following are harmless: wheat […]

Oats and the Gluten-Free Diet: Something for Everyone!

In Honor of Celiac Disease Awareness Month, Gluten Free Watchdog is writing a series of articles (the goal is one per day during the month of May) related to the gluten-free diet–currently the ONLY treatment for celiac disease. 

Post (#10)…

I have written more on oats for both scientific and general audiences than any other issue related to the gluten-free diet. My first article published in the scientific literature in 1997 was on oats and there are at least 27 posts on […]

©2013