Search results for “oat” (Page 9)

General Mills “Gluten-Free” Cheerios: Comment from Gluten Free Watchdog

Update July 22, 2015: Please see Gluten Free Watchdog’s updated statement on Gluten-Free Cheerios https://www.glutenfreewatchdog.org/news/gluten-free-cheerios-take-two/

Update March 29, 2015: Gluten-Free Cheerios, Grain Millers, Oats, and Mechanical “Cleaning”

As Gluten Free Watchdog reported in February, General Mills is using a proprietary mechanical sorting process to remove wheat and barley from the oats they will use in their gluten-free Cheerios. In general, mechanical cleaning of grains separates out unwanted materials based on size, shape, and color among other attributes.

Mechanical sorting/cleaning of grains is nothing […]

What I Ate Wednesday Registered Dietitian Edition

What I Ate Wednesday Registered Dietitian Edition (#WIAWRD)

WIAWRD was not something I had heard of until last week when Debra Riedesel, owner of the websites cyclediet.com and sensitivedietitian.com “tagged” me to write about what I ate Wednesday. To read Debra’s post click here. Obviously, the content of this post is different from what you usually find in this space but it is always interesting to learn about what other people actually eat—right??

My food restrictions include gluten, dairy, and eggs. […]

Arsenic and Rice: Update for Gluten-Free Consumers

I first covered the issue of arsenic and rice in 2009 at the urging of a concerned consumer. That initial article can be accessed at http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/newsletter/gluten-free-diet-arsenic-and-rice/. The present article could not have been written without the helpful and generous email correspondence from arsenic researchers at Dartmouth College.

Arsenic is a naturally occurring element that is found in both organic (carbon-containing) and inorganic (non-carbon-containing) forms. It may be present in soil, water, and air. Inorganic arsenic is a known carcinogen and […]

Quinoa and Possible Barley Contamination

The Chicago Rabbinical Council (CRC) recently posted an alert on their website concerning quinoa and its suitability for Passover http://www.crcweb.org/alerts.php. This alert has implications beyond the Jewish community to include those with celiac disease. I had the pleasure of speaking with a Rabbi from the CRC to confirm this information.

For the past several years quinoa in general was considered suitable for Passover*. This is no longer the case. After thoroughly investigating the issue, several concerns have been raised by […]

Product Labeled Gluten-Free Contains Barley Malt Extract

Suzanne Simpson, dietitian at the Celiac Center at Columbia University recently alerted me to a product manufactured by The Gracious Gourmet that is labeled gluten-free but contains barley malt extract as an ingredient.

This product was NOT tested by Gluten Free Watchdog

Balsamic Four Onion Spread http://www.thegraciousgourmet.com/Balsamic-Four-Onion-Spread-v-158.html is labeled and advertised as gluten-free but according to the ingredients list on the product label and published online, it contains barley malt extract.

Ingredients

onions (yellow onion, leeks, shallots, red onion) sugar, balsamic vinegar, raisin, […]

Naturally Gluten-Free Grains and Gluten Contamination

We all know that if we eat oats they should be labeled gluten-free. We know this because it is well established that “regular” commercial oats are very likely contaminated with gluten. If you are interested in testing data it is available here.

What is less well established is whether other naturally gluten-free grains NOT labeled gluten-free like millet, sorghum, and buckwheat are likely contaminated too.

In 2010, Thomas Grace, Anne Lee and I published the study, “Gluten contamination of grains, seeds, […]

©2013