Product alert for Simply Nature Organic Green Lentils distributed by Aldi and labeled “Naturally Gluten Free Food”Tricia Thompson
Bottom Line: A consumer contacted Gluten Free Watchdog about foreign grain found in a bag of lentils. The consumer sent both the foreign grain and empty bag to Gluten Free Watchdog and we in turn sent the grain to the lab to be tested for identification purposes. The lab was able to test three extractions. The results are 78 ppm, > 84 ppm, > 84 ppm gluten indicating that at least some of the grain is wheat and/or barley.
Background Information: A consumer contacted Aldi and Gluten Free Watchdog providing photos of the foreign grain found in a bag of lentils. Aldi’s supplier responded that the grains in the photos were wild oats. Gluten Free Watchdog sent the photos to four farmers very familiar with grain from oats, wheat, barley, and rye. Their opinion was that the grains in the photos included wheat, barley, oat, and wild oat. Because of the discrepancy between the supplier’s opinion and the farmer’s opinion of the grain in the photos, Gluten Free Watchdog requested that the consumer send us the foreign grain so that we could have the lab test it. Based on the test results the foreign grain includes gluten-containing grain. If the sample contained only uncontaminated oats the test results would have been < 5 ppm of gluten.
Both Aldi and the supplier have been provided with test results.
- Purchase lentil-based products labeled gluten-free. Lentils are allowed by law to contain a certain percentage of foreign grain, including wheat, barley, and/or rye. That said, if lentils are labeled gluten-free they should contain less than 20 ppm of gluten.
- Regardless of whether the lentils you buy are labeled gluten-free please do the following:
- If canned: rinse thoroughly under running water.
- If dry: pour onto a cookie sheet and pick through them. Rinse thoroughly under running water.
We will be stepping up our efforts to test lentils and products containing lentils. We will focus on lentil-based products and canned lentils. When it comes to dry lentils it is probably more useful to “test” them via sorting to see if they contain foreign grain.
I encourage all of you with access to historical data on GFWD to look at the test results for the following products: