Products in the immediate testing queue at Gluten Free Watchdog (November 2020)

Products in the immediate testing queue at Gluten Free Watchdog (November 2020)

The products in the photo have been requested for testing by subscribers to Gluten Free Watchdog. They will be sent to the lab beginning this week. Requests are made for any number of reasons, including peace of mind regarding favorite foods.

Share this post

Comments (4)

  • Fernanda
    Reply

    Please!! Could you test Cap’n Crunch. It was my son favorite cereal. Thank you!!

    December 8, 2020 at 8:14 pm
    • Tricia Thompson Reply

      Hi Fernanda, Unfortunately, Cap’ n Crunch cereal contains oat flour from standard oats. As a result, the oat ingredients may contain wheat, barley, or rye via cross contact. From the manufacturer website:
      Are any of the Cap’n Crunch varieties gluten free?
      The oats we buy are handled and transported in bulk by our suppliers. Cross contact can occur if the oats are grown in fields or transported in vehicles that once contained other grains. Since the kernels of the other grains are similar in size, shape and color to the oat kernel, it is almost impossible to separate them. Although wheat, rye and barley are not part of the ingredients in Cap’n Crunch, there is the possibility that they could contain trace amounts of these grains. For these reasons, we do not label these products gluten free.

      December 9, 2020 at 7:06 pm
  • Cody Reply

    Can you test Makku beer? https://drinkmakku.com/

    The can is not labeled as gluten free and says it contains wheat; however, their website states while they use a blend of wheat and rice based nuruk the resulting products meets threshold of being gluten free according to FDA guidelines. They state gluten level per can is <5 ppm.

    December 18, 2020 at 5:29 pm
    • Tricia Thompson Reply

      Hi Cody, Can you please send me a photo of the ingredients list (info@glutenfreewatchdog.org). If this product is regulated by the FDA (it is not a traditional beer containing malted barley and hops) it can not be labeled gluten-free and it does NOT meet the FDA requirements for labeled gluten-free foods. To be considered gluten-free, ingredients in fermented gluten-free foods must be gluten-free prior to fermentation. If wheat grain is a starting material in this product, it is not considered a gluten-free product under FDA rules for gluten-free labeling.

      December 31, 2020 at 2:23 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


©2013