Recall notices for undeclared wheat: Why is celiac disease not mentioned in company announcements?
Celiac disease is serious. It would be helpful if manufacturers and the FDA acknowledged this in recall notices for undeclared wheat. This is particularly important when a product is labeled gluten-free or makes a “made with no gluten-containing ingredients”* claim on product packaging. Two recent recalls for undeclared wheat state in the company announcement that, “People who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to wheat run the risk of serious or life-threatening allergic reaction if they consume this product.” BUT there is no mention of the risk to folks with celiac disease or other gluten-related disorders.
Wegmans Food Markets, Inc. recalled certain Outrageous Oat Cookies due to undeclared wheat. The cookie label states, “made with no gluten-containing ingredients.” Whitley’s Peanut Factory issued a recall for certain packages of deluxe nut mix due to undeclared wheat and other allergens. This product carries a gluten-free claim. And again, to drive home the point, neither recall notice mentions celiac disease.
Gluten Free Watchdog reached out to the FDA. When products are recalled for undeclared wheat, FDA should make sure that people with celiac disease are included among those that run the risk of a serious reaction.
We will be watching future recall notices to see if anything changes.
For more information on these recalls, see https://www.fda.gov/safety/recalls-market-withdrawals-safety-alerts/whitleys-peanut-factory-issues-allergy-alert-undeclared-peanuts-milk-soy-wheat-and-sesame-limited and https://www.fda.gov/safety/recalls-market-withdrawals-safety-alerts/wegmans-food-markets-inc-issues-allergy-alert-outrageous-oat-cookies-undeclared-wheat.
*Made with no gluten-containing ingredients is not a gluten-free claim.