Statement from Gluten Free Watchdog on Nabisco Gluten-Free Oreo Cookies

Statement from Gluten Free Watchdog on Nabisco Gluten-Free Oreo Cookies

***Note: What follows is the opinion of Gluten Free Watchdog. Whether or not you choose to eat gluten-free Oreo cookies is your decision. You do not owe anyone an explanation. Please make decisions based on all available information.***

Nabisco Gluten-Free Oreo Cookies: Gluten Free Watchdog is on the fence about this cookie. We have tested numerous packages and test results are very encouraging. We love that the actual cookie includes a gluten-free imprint. This is brilliant. This product is also certified gluten-free by GFCO*. According to the manufacturer, Oreo cookies are made with GFCO certified gluten-free oats and manufactured in a GFCO certified facility. However, despite repeated inquiries, Nabisco will not answer a simple question about their oats–are they sorted or purity protocol? In the opinion of Gluten Free Watchdog, it is very problematic when a manufacturer refuses to disclose the source of their oats. This is less about their choice of oats (sorted versus purity protocol) and much more about their unwillingness to be completely transparent with a community of folks with celiac disease and gluten-related disorders

*To read a statement from GFCO along with Gluten Free Watchdog’s updated position on oats, see

Share this post

Comments (22)

  • Kathleen Reinhold Reply

    I am very sensitive to anything containing gluten and have eaten both the gf oreo and gf double stuffed oreo with no side effects, They are delicious and I am thrilled that the OREO people have created this wonderful treat for the celiac community.

    March 28, 2021 at 5:27 pm
  • Angy lynn Reply

    I tried the gf Oreos on a five day stint of only eating at home. The results? There’s gluten in there. I should’ve looked at the ingredients first. I usually do but didn’t this time. It’s a trace amount but it’s there and gave me all my classic symptoms of trace amounts of
    Gluten. I have celiacs and am hypersensitive to gluten.

    April 24, 2021 at 12:41 pm
    • Tricia Thompson Reply

      All 24 samples tested below the lower limit of quantification of 5 parts per million of gluten.

      April 29, 2021 at 2:47 pm
    • Susan Reply

      I reacted to the gluten free Oreos as well.

      May 10, 2021 at 9:48 am
      • Nicole Reply

        I reacted to just eating ONE cookie. So it must be the oat flour.

        November 21, 2021 at 11:45 pm
    • Faye Reply

      Mee too.

      March 3, 2022 at 4:29 am
    • trevon Reply

      i have celiac and i am fine with oats and these cookies are so good

      September 9, 2022 at 1:58 pm
  • Jayline fields Reply

    Meee tooo!!!! I am having bad allergic reaction to them- has to be in the oat flour- not sure but sad to see them leave my pantry… (edited).

    May 15, 2021 at 10:37 pm
  • A Reply

    There’s definitely gluten in the cookies. Caused the worst abdominal pain I’ve ever experienced. Sucks…

    May 28, 2021 at 7:07 pm
    • Shirann Reply

      Me too ya’ll. I couldn’t wait to try these, but am disappointed. There is gluten in there. I have been eating at home and nothing new but these. Am in the throes if a reaction. Buyer beware

      September 30, 2021 at 9:42 pm
  • Robert noble Reply

    Gluten is in there. My body reacts instantly

    July 1, 2021 at 8:00 pm
  • Linda Reply

    I have celiac and have eaten lots of gluten free Oreos. I have not had any reaction. Love the double stuff. Wish they would make the golden Oreos gluten free.

    July 15, 2021 at 11:00 pm
  • Jessica Reply

    There’s definitely gluten in these. I only ate one per day and not every day. Over the course of two weeks I ate about six cookies. I had no noticible reaction. BUT I had my stool tested around the time I was eating these, and the Anti-gliadin SigA was high! I’m on a gluten-free, almost grain-free diet. These are literally the only thing that could’ve caused such a reaction. The only other grain-containing item I was eating at the time was gluten-free hamburger buns, about 1-2 per week. I was eating those the last time my stool was tested months ago and the Anti-gliadin SigA was low that time. These cookies are the culprit!

    August 12, 2021 at 10:47 am
    • Bryn Reply

      Do you react to other stuff with certified gluten free oats?

      June 3, 2023 at 8:54 pm
  • Shelley LeBlanc Reply

    Gluten in in there. After five cookies, my body reacted the way it normally does. Very disappointed and to find out on top of that they’re not disclosing where their oats come from is putting a lot of us at risk.

    October 3, 2021 at 4:20 am
  • Dee Tichenor Reply

    When I saw that Oreos put out a gluten free double stuffed cookie I almost screamed in the store! Fast forward, today after a week of eating maybe one or two over the course of a couple of weeks, I’m suffering like I haven’t in months. Spent a lovely, sunny fall day in my bathroom. It’s the oats for sure! Come on Nabisco, you’re messing with so many peoples lives. Get it right!

    November 7, 2021 at 11:09 pm
  • Suvada Hasanovic Reply

    Hi. I also got a reaction after eating 2 Oreos. I have celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis. I got tingling in my knees and elbow. If there are oats in ingredients then that must be the cause. The Cheerios cereal claim glutenfree but are not because of the oats. Hope they can fix the problem. The Walmart brand gluten free cookies are really good .

    November 13, 2021 at 6:58 pm
  • Patrick Reply

    I believe you when you say these tested out below 5ppm. On the other hand, I’m pretty sure these are giving me fits. It is possible they vary considerably from batch to batch. I volunteer my leftovers for testing. I certainly can’t eat them.

    November 30, 2021 at 10:32 pm
  • Chessa Reply

    I eat gluten free oats without any problem but after eating approx two servings of Oreos per day (snack and desert) for maybe two weeks I developed fierce gut pain and headache.

    February 19, 2022 at 7:45 pm
  • Sarah Reply

    I have tried these cookies a couple of times, thinking I may have eaten something else that had gluten in it before I enjoyed them, they are definitely not gluten-free.
    I am highly sensitive to them.

    April 4, 2022 at 5:37 pm
  • Vickie Brown Reply

    I have eaten gluten free double stuff and regular Oreos and I enjoyed both with no reaction. I have been waiting for Nabisco to recognize the gluten free customers.

    July 10, 2022 at 1:30 pm
  • Imerald Reply

    I am currently in flare mode with typical reactions but not as bad as when I have wheat, etc. but these oats! The oat flour- I’m really reacting to it. I’ve read elsewhere too that oats aren’t good for gluten intolerance folks and I kind of dismissed it but now I see. I’m having swelling and my body is on fire! It’s like a gluten flare but not as bad but still bad.

    January 21, 2023 at 2:09 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *