Yes, products can be properly labeled gluten-free AND include a “Contains wheat” statement

Yes, products can be properly labeled gluten-free AND include a “Contains wheat” statement

Luna LemonZest and Blueberry Mash-Ups Bar

Over the past couple months Gluten Free Watchdog has received numerous queries about a new Luna bar flavor. The ingredients include wheat syrup. The product label includes a “Contains wheat” statement. And the following wording is included on packaging: “The wheat has been processed to allow this food to meet the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) requirements for gluten-free foods.”

So what gives?

This product is in compliance with the FDA’s gluten-free labeling rule.

How is that possible?

Wheat starch and ingredients made using wheat starch, such as wheat syrup (wheat glucose syrup) are allowed in foods labeled gluten-free as long as the ingredient doesn’t cause the final food product to contain a level of gluten at/above 20 ppm.

The additional statement about processing is required language that manufacturers are supposed to include on product packaging when a product is labeled gluten-free AND wheat is listed in the ingredients list or Contains statement as required under the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act. The statement is meant to decrease consumer confusion.

Note to advocates: Please spread the word about this type of labeling. Thank you!

Thank you to all the consumers who contacted Gluten Free Watchdog about this product. Photos used with permission.

Information included on product packaging:

PROTEIN GRAIN BLEND (ROLLED OATS*, SOY PROTEIN ISOLATE, ROASTED SOYBEANS*, RICE FLOUR*, SOY FLOUR*), BROWN RICE SYRUP*, CANE SUGAR*, CANE SYRUP*, APPLE PUREE CONCENTRATE*, CHICORY FIBER SYRUP, HIGH OLEIC SUNFLOWER OIL*, WHEAT SYRUP*†, VEGETABLE GLYCERIN, PALM KERNEL OIL, PALM KERNEL SOLIDS*, SOY FLOUR*, NATURAL FLAVORS, BLUEBERRY PUREE*, LEMON JUICE CONCENTRATE*, PALM OIL*, RICE STARCH, GLUCOSE SYRUP*, APPLE JUICE CONCENTRATE*, CITRIC ACID, SOY LECITHIN*, SEA SALT, PECTIN, SODIUM BICARBONATE, ELDERBERRY JUICE CONCENTRATE (FOR COLOR)*, SUNFLOWER LECITHIN*.

† THE WHEAT HAS BEEN PROCESSED TO ALLOW THIS FOOD TO MEET THE FOOD AND DRUG ADMINISTRATION (FDA) REQUIREMENTS FOR GLUTEN-FREE FOODS.

CONTAINS WHEAT AND SOY.

From the FDA’s codified gluten-free rule:

A food that bears the term “wheat” in the ingredient list or in a separate “Contains wheat” statement in its labeling, as required by 21 U.S.C. 343(w)(1)(A), and also bears the claim “gluten-free” or a claim identified in paragraph (b)(2) of this section will be deemed misbranded unless the word “wheat” in the ingredient list or in the “Contains wheat” statement is followed immediately by an asterisk (or other symbol) that refers to another asterisk (or other symbol) in close proximity to the ingredient statement that immediately precedes the following: “The wheat has been processed to allow this food to meet the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) requirements for gluten-free foods.”

Share this post

Comments (2)

  • Shal Lynch
    Reply

    What about the oats in this product? Does the whole product test at < 20ppm of gluten or just the wheat?

    March 9, 2020 at 9:40 pm
    • Tricia Thompson Reply

      Under the gluten-free labeling rule the final product must contain a level of gluten below 20 ppm gluten.

      March 10, 2020 at 5:47 pm

Leave a Reply to Shal Lynch Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


©2013