Hay Straws

Hay Straws

The following report on Hay Straws will inform you of the amount of gluten found in this product during testing.

General Product Information

Manufacturer: Hay Straws

Please read all three reports on "wheat straw" straw products. The test report summary is complicated. I apologize in advance for any confusion. Please reach out with any questions info@glutenfreewatchdog.org. 

Ingredients: Natural wheat stems

The manufacturer provides online product information.

Gluten-free information on product packaging: The bottom of the box reads, “Our straws are made from wheat stems and have been tested as gluten-free.”

The manufacturer website provides gluten-free information. The statement reads:

Are HAY! Straws Gluten-Free?

Yes! Our straws have been tested by University of Nebraska Lincoln, Food Allergy and Resource Program and have a low gluten reading of 8ppm, which is classed as gluten-free. For a product to be classified as gluten-free the ppm reading must be under 20ppm.”

Ingredient and labeling information provided as a convenience only. Do not rely on this information for your dietary needs. Always read product labels before purchasing for the most accurate and up-to-date information.


This is a sample report, available to subscribers and non-subscribers alike.

Test Report Summary

Report Date: 10/17/2019

The following testing information is a bit complicated. Please contact info@glutenfreewatchdog.org with any questions.

1. Gluten assays were developed to assess the gluten content of food.

2. To help determine if the sandwich R5 ELISA Mendez Method (cocktail extraction) could recover any gluten present in Hay Straws, a spike recovery was run. This means that a known amount of gluten was added to the straw sample and then tested for gluten.

3. AOAC guidelines for successful recovery: 50%-150%.

4. Gluten recovery was 37%. The spike recovery was considered unsuccessfull. This means that the R5 ELISA and cocktail extraction didn't work with this particular sample.

5. A spike recovery was also run using the sandwich R5 ELISA and an ethanol and fish gelatin extraction. Fish gelatin (and skim milk powder) are often added to extraction solutions to release bound gluten (ie gluten that may be binding to a substance in the sample. This gluten may not be detected when the sample is tested).

6. Gluten recovery was 125%. The spike recovery was considered successful.

7. The straw sample was tested using the sandwich R5 ELISA and an ethanol and fish gelatin extraction. The two extractions tested < 5 ppm of gluten

Complete Test Results

No test results released at this time.