Lentils & Foreign Grain
The following report on Lentils & Foreign Grain will inform you of the amount of gluten found in this product during testing.
General Product InformationManufacturer: Multiple
Errant grain (wheat and/or barley) in bags of lentils labeled gluten-free is an ongoing problem (the most recent complaint was received March 26, 2019). A formal report has been submitted to FDA.
As a general reminder, under US GIPSA standards (Grain Inspection, Packers & Stockyards Administration), lentils are allowed to contain a certain percentage of foreign grain, including wheat, barley, and rye. However, products labeled gluten-free are supposed to contain less than 20 ppm of gluten. As a precaution, please make sure to pick through dry lentils carefully and rinse them very thoroughly under running water.
Please see the PDF for a summary of products reported to Gluten Free Watchdog by consumers.