Our Fathers Foods Crushed Wheat #1

Our Fathers Foods Crushed Wheat #1

The following report on Our Fathers Foods Crushed Wheat #1 will inform you of the amount of gluten found in this product during testing.

General Product Information

Manufacturer: Our Fathers Foods

Ingredient: Wheat

This product was ordered for testing because the manufacturer website as of August 11, 2018 read, “Crushed wheat #1 allows people with gluten intolerance, celiac disease, … to eat wheat again.”

This product is NOT labeled gluten-free.

The manufacturer provides online product information.

Additional information:

Excerpts from the manufacturer website

As of August 11, 2018 the following statements were posted on the website of Our Fathers Foods:

“Crushed wheat #1 allows people with gluten intolerance, celiac disease, type 2 diabetes, and other health ailments to eat wheat again.”

“So far we have had around 150 people with gluten intolerance and celiac disease eat our Crushed Wheat and have not had anyone come back to us with any reactions to it! In fact, they come back to us for more because our Crushed Wheat tastes better than any other gluten free food they have ever had.”

“Flour itself does not contain gluten. Instead, flour contains two proteins (glutenin and gliadin) that form gluten when oxygen is added. Besides oxygen, gluten requires mixing to form a strong, continuous network.”

“We do NOT say our Crushed Wheat is gluten free, but we do say that we have had around 150 people with gluten intolerance and celiac disease eat our Crushed Wheat with nobody coming back with a problem.”

Gluten Free Watchdog spoke at length with Our Fathers Foods and asked them to remove all erroneous information related to gluten, celiac disease, and gluten intolerance from their website. The above excerpts have now been edited to remove “celiac disease.” However, claims regarding gluten intolerance remain.

Gluten confusion

Based on information posted on their website about gluten, Our Fathers Foods may be conflating various uses of the term "gluten." Bakers (amomg others) define gluten as the elastic strands that form when the protein wheat gliadin and the protein wheat glutenin combine in the presence of water and kneading. What the manufacturer appears not to understand is that the proteins gliadin and glutenin are problematic to folks with celiac disease (no water or kneading required) because they contain harmful sequences of amino acids. These harmful sequences are found in wheat grain, crushed wheat, wheat flour, wheat dough, and fully baked bread (including sourdough wheat bread). Not an exhaustive list!

 

Complete Test Results

Test results for this product are only available to subscribers. or subscribe to read this report!