Yum Earth Licorice (Strawberry)
The following report on Yum Earth Licorice (Strawberry) will inform you of the amount of gluten found in this product during testing.
General Product Information
Manufacturer: Yum Earth
Ingredients: Sugar, Glucose syrup solids,** Rice flour, Filtered water, Modified starch, Palm oil, Citric acid, Sodium citrate (acidity regulator), Natural flavor, Strawberry juice from concentrate, Licorice root extract, Black carrot extract, Salt, Coconut oil, Carnauba wax.
**Contains wheat that has been processed to allow the food to meet the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) requirements for gluten-free foods.
Gluten Free Watchdog note: Labeling on this product is not in complete compliance with FDA allergen labeling (FALCPA) and FDA gluten-free labeling. Under FALCPA, the word "wheat" must be included in either the ingredients list (e.g., glucose syrup solids [wheat]) or Contains statement (i.e., Contains: wheat). Because wheat is in a product labeled gluten-free there should be an asterisk after the word wheat in either the ingredients list or Contains statement that leads to a second asterisk and then the verbiage “The wheat has been processed…” Because of consumer confusion surrounding this type of labeling, manufacturers must strictly adhere to labeling laws/rules and certifying organizations must make sure this is done. For an explanation why food labeled gluten-free can also include a "Contains: wheat" declaration, see the video https://www.glutenfreewatchdog.org/news/video-can-foods-labeled-gluten-free-include-a-contains-statement-for-wheat/
The manufacturer provides online product information.
Gluten-free information on product packaging: Gluten-free is written on front and back packaging along with the Certified Gluten-Free mark from GFCO.
Ingredient and labeling information provided as a convenience only. Do not rely on this information for your dietary needs. Always read product labels before purchasing for the most accurate and up-to-date information.